FRA’s newly-elected Scientific Committee members meet

Scientific Committee 2013 – 2018
Scientific Committee 2013 – 2018
The 22nd meeting of the Scientific Committee of the EU Fundamental Rights Agency took place on 23-24 September. During the meeting, newly-elected members became familiar with the mandate and activities of the agency.

They also discussed their expectations and ambitions on the work of agency as well as different topical issues, including Roma, disability and the rule of law. 

The Committee is composed of eleven independent members from Belgium, Bulgaria, Spain, Finland, France, Ireland, Latvia, the Netherlands and Poland. Rosemary Byrne and Han Entzinger have become the newly-elected Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson.

The Committee are all independent renowned experts, Europe-wide, in their fields of expertise. They include lawyers, social scientists and statisticians covering the various areas of activities of the agency. In addition, they have many years of professional experience as members of EU expert networks and relevant institutions, including for instance the European Court for Human Rights, national constitutional Courts, national human rights institutions, various Council of Europe bodies, the UN Committee of Human Rights or UN special procedures. Their varied professional backgrounds, disciplines and areas of specialisation will ensure a balanced composition and fruitful dialogue within the Committee.

The term of office for members of the Scientific Committee is five years, not renewable.

The members were elected by FRA’s Management Board, following a transparent call for applications and selection procedure after having consulted the relevant committee of the European Parliament (LIBE Committee).