Members of FRA’s new Scientific Committee announced

The FRA Management Board, at its meeting of 22-24 May 2013, appointed the members of the agency's new Scientific Committee.

The members of the Scientific Committee are: Prof  Rosemary Byrne; Mr Olivier De Schutter; Prof Han Entzinger; Mr Patrick Festy; Mr Jose Manuel Fresno; Dr Martin Gramatikov; Dr Kristine Kruma; Prof Johanna  Niemi; Prof Gerard Quinn; Ms Francoise Tulkens; Prof Roman Wieruszewski. The new Committee is made up of lawyers, social scientists and statisticians covering the various activities of FRA. They are all widely renowned experts with distinguished academic credentials. In addition, they are members of EU expert networks and relevant institutions (including the European Court for Human Rights, national constitutional courts, national human rights institutions, Council of Europe bodies, the UN Committee of Human Rights or UN special procedures). Their professional backgrounds, disciplines, areas of specialisation as well as nationality, bring a balanced composition to the Committee. They will be members for five years, not renewable from 4 June 2013 to 3 June 2018. A Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson will be elected by the Scientific Committee for a term of one year. 

Members of the previous Scientific Committee came together for their last meeting on 3 June 2013.