EU Charter for Fundamental Rights

The Charter of Fundamental Rights of the EU brings together the fundamental rights protected in the EU in a single document. The Charter contains rights and freedoms under six titles: Dignity, Freedoms, Equality, Solidarity, Citizens' Rights, and Justice. Proclaimed in 2000, the Charter has become legally binding on the EU when the Treaty of Lisbon entered into force in December 2009.