Key speakers

Ilze Brands Kehris
Ilze Brands Kehris has been chairperson of the FRA Management Board since 2009. Ms Brands Kehris is also director of the Office of the OSCE High Commissioner on National Minorities. She was vice-chairperson of the Management Board of the European Union Monitoring Centre on Racism and Xenophobia (EUMC) from 2004 to 2007, and has since been a member of the FRA's Executive Board. She has also been a member of the Advisory Committee of the Council of Europe Framework Convention for the Protection of National Minorities since 2006, where she holds the position of first vice-president.
Morten Kjaerum
Morten Kjaerum was appointed as director of the FRA in 2008. Prior to this, he was the director of the Danish Centre for Human Rights until 2003 when he became the founding Director of the Danish Institute for Humar Rights. In 2002, he was elected to become member of the UN Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination and in 2004, he was elected President of the International Coordination Committee for National Human Rights Institutions, a network coordinating the relation between the UN and national institutions.

Download opening speech

Download closing remarks

Aurel Ciobanu-Dordea
Aurel Ciobanu-Dordea is the Director in charge of Equality in the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Justice. He was also the chief negotiator for Romania’s accession to the European Union between December 1999 and January 2001.
Craig Mohkiber
Craig Mohkiber is the Chief of Development and Economic and Social Issues Branch at the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights. He has been working with the UN since 1992.

Download keynote address

Trevor Phillips
Trevor Phillips chairs the Equality and Human Rights Commission (EHRC) in the UK. He became head of Commission for Racial Equality in 2003, and on its abolition in 2006 was appointed full-time chair of its successor, the EHRC.