Case-law Database

The FRA Case-law Database provides a compilation of Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU) and European Court of Human Rights (ECtHR) case law with direct references to the Charter of Fundamental Rights of the European Union.

It also contains a selection of national case law with direct references to the Charter from all EU Member States.

The data include a formal reference to the decisions, judgments and opinions, an abstract in English, excerpts of the paragraphs where the Charter is quoted, and if available a link to the full text document.

Refine by:

Case-law Database

Pages

CJEU Case C-467/18 / Opinion

Rayonna prokuratura Lom v EP
10/07/2019
Court of Justice of the European Union
Opinion

Key facts of the case:

Preliminary ruling — Directives 2012/13/EU, 2013/48/EU and (EU) 2016/343 — Scope — Policing — Pre-trial criminal investigation by the public prosecution service — Special criminal procedure for the adoption of coercive medical measures — Committal...

EU Charter Article(s) referenced: 

CJEU Case C-233/18/ Opinion

Zubair Haqbin v Federaal agentschap voor de opvang van asielzoekers
06/06/2019
Court of Justice of the European Union
Opinion

Introduction

  1. By its questions for a preliminary ruling, the arbeidshof te Brussel (Higher Labour Court, Brussels, Belgium) asks the Court to clarify the meaning of the provisions laid down in Article 20(4) of Directive 2013/33/EU, (
  2. ...
EU Charter Article(s) referenced: 

CJEU Case Avis 1/17/ Opinion

Request for an opinion by the Kingdom of Belgium
29/01/2019
Court of Justice of the European Union
Opinion
Belgium

Introduction

  1. On 30 October 2016 Canada, of the one part, and the European Union and its Member States, of the other part, signed in Brussels a ‘Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement’, better known by the
  2. ...
EU Charter Article(s) referenced: 

CJEU - C-221/15 / Opinion

Openbaar Ministerie v. Etablissements Fr. Colruyt NV
21/04/2016
Court of Justice of the European Union
Opinion
EU

Key facts of the case:

Directive 2011/64/EU — Excise duties applicable to manufactured tobacco — Retail price of manufactured tobacco — Revenue stamp —Minimum prices — Free movement of goods — Quantitative restrictions — Article 101 TFEU

Results (sanctions...

EU Charter Article(s) referenced: 

CJEU - C 122/15 / Opinion

Preliminary Ruling Request from the Finnish Administrative Court
28/01/2016
Court of Justice of the European Union
Opinion
EU

Key facts of the case:

  1. The present case may open a new chapter in the influence of EU law on the income tax legislation of the Member States. In the context of a reference from the highest Finnish administrative court, the Court is asked to answer the important
  2. ...
EU Charter Article(s) referenced: 

CJEU - C 354/13 / Opinion

FOA, acting on behalf of Karsten Kaltoft v Kommunernes Landsforening (KL), acting on behalf of the Municipality of Billund
17/07/2014
Court of Justice of the European Union
Opinion
Denmark
Key facts of the case:
 
(Equal treatment in employment and occupation — Discrimination on grounds of disability — Whether EU fundamental rights law includes a general prohibition of discrimination in the labour market covering discrimination on grounds...
EU Charter Article(s) referenced: 
ECHR Article(s) referenced: 

CJEU - C 356/12 / Opinion

Glatzel
18/07/2013
Court of Justice of the European Union
Opinion
Key facts of the case:
 
(Request for a preliminary ruling from the Bayerischer Verwaltungsgerichtshof (Germany))
(Directive 2006/126/EC — Minimum standards concerning physical and mental fitness to drive a motor vehicle — Requirement that...
EU Charter Article(s) referenced: 

CJEU - C 234/12 / Opinion

Sky Italia s.r.l.
16/05/2013
Court of Justice of the European Union
Opinion
Key facts of the case:
  1. Advertising hits the screens of most European televisions at fairly regular intervals. This television advertising, which is generally regarded by viewers as an annoying interruption to the programme, has long since been an economic factor
  2. ...
EU Charter Article(s) referenced: 

CJEU - C 195/12 / Opinion

Industrie du bois de Vielsalm & Cie (IBV) SA Industrie du bois de Vielsalm & Cie (IBV) SA v Région wallonne Région wallonne
08/05/2013
Court of Justice of the European Union
Opinion
Key facts of the case:
  1. For the first time the Court is called upon to interpret Directive 2004/8/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 11 February 2004 on the promotion of cogeneration based on a useful heat demand in the internal energy market and
  2. ...
EU Charter Article(s) referenced: 

CJEU - Joined cases C 628/10 P and C 14/11 P / Opinion

Alliance One International Inc. and Others v European Commission and Others
12/01/2012
Court of Justice of the European Union
Opinion
Key facts of the case:
  1. ‘Parents are responsible for their children’ – this old saying seems to come true again and again in cartel cases. (1) In proceedings concerning fines imposed for cartel offences it is often not only the firms directly involved in the
  2. ...
EU Charter Article(s) referenced: 
ECHR Article(s) referenced: 

Pages