News Item

Jim Clarken elected new FRA Management Board Chair

Jim Clarken, FRA’s Management Board new Chairpersonas a new Chairperson
© FRA/Voglhuber
On 16 September, FRA’s Management Board elected Jim Clarken as a new Chairperson. He will take office on 20 September 2022.

Clarken is a Commissioner at the Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission, CEO of Oxfam Ireland and a member of the Executive Board of Oxfam International. He is also an adjunct Professor at the School of Business and Law at National University of Ireland, Cork.

He is a leading commentator on global issues relating to human rights, inequality, sustainable development and the role of business in protecting and promoting human rights, with a deep commitment to women’s rights and equality. He regularly contributes to political and public debate in a wide range of international fora and his expertise and experience have been sought by government, business and academia for many years.

On accepting this role Clarken said: “I am deeply honoured to have been elected to this position. I will endeavour to lead and support the FRA Management Board with energy and commitment as we navigate these challenging times, balancing the need to tackle emerging issues with a deep commitment to continuing the excellent work of FRA, putting Rights Holders at the heart of all that we do”.

At the same time, Lyra Jakulevičienė was elected a member of the Executive Board. Jakulevičienė is an international and European Union law professor at Mykolas Romeris University in Lithuania. Previously, she held various positions at the United Nations.

The Agency thanks the outgoing Chairperson Elise Barbé for her expert guidance over the years. 

The Management Board is FRA’s independent oversight body. It is responsible for adopting the agency’s multiannual Programming Document, and its annual Fundamental Rights Report. It monitors the Agency’s operations and adopts its budget. It also appoints FRA’s Director, as well as the members of its Scientific Committee.

The Management Board consists of one independent member per Member State, nominated for five years. Members have high-level responsibilities in national human rights institutions or other public or private sector organisations.

Two representatives of the European Commission and one independent person appointed by the Council of Europe also sit on the Board.

Members from Albania, North Macedonia and Serbia participate as observers in the work of the FRA Board.

For a complete list of members see the FRA website.