Executive Board

The Executive Board is composed of:

  • the Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson of the Management Board,
  • two other members of the Management Board (elected by the Management Board),  
  • one of the representatives of the European Commission in the Management Board.

The Management Board member appointed by the Council of Europe also participates in Executive Board meetings.

The Executive Board assists the Management Board in all matters such as preparing decisions. It also assists and advises the Director.


The Management Board elected Jim Clarken of Ireland as its new Chairperson at its 40th meeting on 16 September 2022.

The current Members of the Executive Board are: