News Item

Supporting EU Member States in reporting on SDG implementation

Five EU Member States volunteered to review implementation of the sustainable development goals in their countries in 2020.

These countries were Austria, Bulgaria, Estonia, Finland and Slovenia. FRA and the UN Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights are contributing to the review.

They sent a joint letter from the UN’s Human Rights High Commissioner, Michelle Bachelet, and FRA Director Michael O’Flaherty. FRA also compiled relevant information from its work to assist the national reports.

The material was sent to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the five EU Member States. It was also shared with FRA’s National Liaison Officers, with National Human Rights Institutes and civil society organisations, including SDG Watch National organisations.

This will feed the national consultation processes on SDG implementation.