You are here:

Constitution of the Kingdom of Spain


Section 3 (1) Castilian is the official Spanish language of the State. All Spaniards have the duty to know it and the right to use it. (2) The other Spanish languages shall also be official in the respective Self-governing Communities in accordance with their Statutes. (3) The richness of the different linguistic modalities of Spain is a cultural heritage which shall be specially respected and protected.