News Item

Supporting EU Member States’ reporting on SDG implementation

Six EU Member States volunteered to review the implementation of the sustainable development goals (SDGs) in their countries in 2021. These countries are Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Germany, Spain and Sweden.

In a joint letter from the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, Michelle Bachelet, and FRA Director, Michael O’Flaherty, FRA and the UN Human Rights Office provided relevant information and data to contribute to the reviews. FRA compiled available information from its work that can be referred to in the national reports when reporting on fundamental rights. The material was sent to Ministers of Foreign Affairs of the six EU Member States. It will also be shared with FRA’s National Liaison Officers, with National Human Rights Institutions and civil society organisations - including SDG Watch national organisations - so that it can feed into the national consultation processes on SDG implementation.